One Mad Dog


[The Authority : Kev] – (Garth Ennis, Glen Fabry)
April 7, 2010, 3:09 am
Filed under: 8 Stars, Garth Ennis, Glen Fabry, Kev
I think this book will polarize many people. It probably wont appeal to the hardcore superhero marvel and DC comic book readers but it may well appeal to some of the old school 2000AD, Starlord types. Up front I have to say I fall into the latter category and I have never really been into Batman, Superman, Spider man etc. I grew up on a diet of Judge Dredd, Strontium Dog, Robohunter, ABC warriors etc. This book feels like an adult progression of those days so perhaps this is a comic book that appeals to a limited demographic?
The book is a strange mix of gritty British sarcastic humor and over the top alien superhero stuff. I think the SAS stuff works well and the Alien stuff less so. I found it to be an enjoyable read with art that is both clean and appropriate. It is horribly politically incorrect and contains scenes of gore and nudity in profusion but that didn’t bother me.
I dont think it works quite as well as the follow on book “A Man Called KEV” but I still found it an enjoyable read. It hasnt made me want to try out any of the authority books. (ISBN-13: 978-1401206147) .8/10
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

